Surgery

Just made it back to SUI from South Africa but tomorrow the next task is waiting for me. I have to undergo surgery on my right thigh. One of the reasons for my visit in SUI was also for an appointment& tests at the Crossclinik (Swiss Olympic Medical Center) in Basel. The diagnosis I got is: saphenous nerve entrapment in the adductor canal. This sounds complicate but basically means that the surgery will give the nerve in my right thigh more space and hopefully release the chronic pain. I carried that problem for 2 years with me. I tried a lot of different treatments but nothing solved the problem. I’m very glad the problem is finally found. My right leg just can’t handle high power output. The pain is simply forcing me to ease off with pushing when it is getting very hard in training or racing. It was very difficult to deal with that problem for myself and it was also hard to handle for the people around me (coach, family, friends). The recovery will take some time, I have to be very careful and have to build up slowly again.

Because of the surgery, my stay in SUI will be 2 weeks longer.

Leave a comment